A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Triffid?

We had horrendous rain yesterday afternoon and evening so when I took my coffee break, from preparing my daughter's old room for decorating, I took a scan of the garden to see if there had been any damage to my tulips. ( Thought it could be just right for the May macro mayhem challenge.)

They were fine but not open and I took lots of shots. They don't begin to compare with the ones we saw at Harlow Carr and I do get a bit disheartened but can't resist buying more every year.

I took just a couple of other flowers, the purple magnolia 'Susan' and these Peonies not yet unfurled. The tight buds are just about to open, had they been they would have been dreadfully battered by the wind and rain which sadly often happens.
I chose these over all the tulips as I like the way they are holding rain water at the top of the bud, though they do look a bit like Triffids!

The day has improved and we have had some sun this afternoon and I have managed to paint two and a bit walls of the bedroom. Want to get it done as we are away again at the end of the month and then it is the dreaded exam marking. Don't want to be doing it if and when we get some summer weather either.

The paint is duck egg blue but looked a disturbingly grey/lilac as it went on! Looking ok now and will go nicely with the new curtains I got last month. Getting started is always the hardest bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.