Paddling Puppy

It was a horrid forecast but I was up and away early just to try and walk a bit.  I sometimes see this dog with her owner when I am walking, she is a character and tirelessly chases a brace of tennis balls hurled by her owner. 

We stopped and exchanged a few words this morning and fell into step and walked a little way together.  I noticed that the dog would retrieve the yellow ball and bring it all the way back but would chase and catch the pink one but drop it almost immediately and run back for the next one.  Her owner commented that she was funny about the pink ball and didn't seem to want to carry it.

We came to one of the several burns that flow into our river, this one is big enough and deep enough to allow the dog to swim and chase stones.  I obliged by throwing some and it made me realise how very much I miss having dogs, the unquestioning friendship and loyalty found so seldom in people.  I am fortunate for I have two or three friends who give me that unquestioning friendship and support me come whatever may and I cannot put into words what that means to me but suffice to say I am very lucky 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.