Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Farm Machinery

What a fantastic day.  Went out to the Glengorm Estate which we'd visited last year for a return trip.  A great walk out to the coast where we could see Coll lying low in the bright sunshine.  The wind was invigorating but the rain stayed far, far away and the sun shone. Saw the ferry coming in from Barra.  On the way back to Tobermory we stopped at the Isle of Mull cheese place and what a great farm and more besides.  We will definitely go back later in the week to see the cheese being made and enjoy the 'garden barn'.  More of that another day I'm sure.  There were quite a few pieces of old farm machinery and implements around including a wonderful cast iron cheese press dating from the 1870s.  I liked this though I don't think it can have been very comfortable.  I think it's a hay rake but someone can correct me if I'm wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.