Dubrovnik Concert Hall

April 22

Day in Dubrovnik

We had a group tour in the morning and when we came to this building I had a very strong feeling that this was the building where my family went to hear a concert while we were in Dubrovnik in 1962. I was only 19 but I remember the lovely courtyard and the beautiful concert that we attended. We were even driven there which does not usually happen. I was delighted to be in the same place again. After the formal tour, Arvin and I found a small cafe for lunch and then continued to explore the city. I'll post some extra photos of the sights we saw.
                                             
In the evening we went to a farm in the country about twenty minutes away from Dubrovnik. Our hosts were Mina and her daughter Keti. We toured the smoke house, the cellar where meat is hung and had Grappa and Walnut brandy along with candied orange peals and figs. Then we went to a small building with tables for guests and an area where the hostess sold produce and other things from their farm.
We had a delicious meal with warm fresh bread, prociutto ham and cheese, mashed potatoes and stuffed peppers and cabbage. Delicious. And for desert we had flan.

Keti was so charming. She spoke excellent English and translated some jokes Arvin and I told for her mother. It was really fun to see her in action and we all were charmed by her. We bought some walnut brandy and a lovely decorated egg to take home. It was late by the time we got to bed. The ship cruised to Korcula during the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.