a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The Watcher

Mono Monday: The Twighlight Zone

It was my first day back from holidays and I'd been chained to my desk, trying to get up to date with everything that had managed to pile up on my desk whilst I was away. Despite the longer daylight hours it was dark now. Everyone else had left; off home to their partners and families.  The office stood silent in its shadows.


I don't like the office when its late and I'm on my own.  I know its empty, but I always feel as if I am being watched.  Getting a grip on my fears I turned back to the desk in front of me.


Finally, I felt, I was getting to the bottom of the mound of paperwork.  I'd be able to go soon.  As I moved the last file out of place I sensed rather than saw a sudden movement and heard a scuttling noise.  I looked up and froze in horror .... It didn't look as though I'd be going anywhere any time soon.


Thanks to Dollykgray for setting this rather entertaining challenge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.