BrightNBreezy1

By BrightNBreezy1

Happy in Happy Valley

I had a little walk on Farthing Downs today -  I used to take the children there for picnics and walks but haven't been for a few years although it's practically on my doorstep. According to Wikipedia, this is the most extensive area of semi-natural downland left in Greater London. There is all sorts of protective legislation taking care of it.

The landscape maintenance man was just loading his lawn mower having trimmed the pathways. It was beautiful up there with the fresh smell of newly-mown grass. Buttercups covered the grassland and the clouds were amazing. I took the photo 'blind' as it was too bright to see what I was doing. A little over-exposed but my phone camera did its best! 

Had a 'nice' shop while I was out. A friend was looking for a paperback version of one of the Harry Potter books to take on holiday and I found her a pristine one when I went into a charity shop for a card. Also bought some flowers for a friend who is hosting a supper evening for seven of us tonight. We became friends 20 years ago when our children started school together. An 8th group member has moved to Cornwall but still makes it back for unexpected visits! Whether it's the 7 or 8 of us, the evening is likely to be lively!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.