Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

This is what it's all about!

Not quite... but us being on a Photography Social Media site... cameras and lenses have to be quite high up on the list.

So, today I was told by a colleague of this exhibition happening right on our doorstep... Photo World... and we discovered that it is actually part of one of OUR shows!!! Hmmm... PALME is on - one of my favourite exhibitions being the Professional Sound and Light show, but I haven't had time to visit the past few years, and the same this year, despite walking through the concourse.

G & I did however manage to spend 30 minutes in Photo World and we walked around looking at mainly printers, lights, special paper even, and then we came upon Grand Stores' Nikon stand. I have to admit I did get excited about all these lenses with the cameras perched at the ends of them; the tripods there to support the lens and not the camera! The most expensive one is the first one you see in the picture - an 800mm f5.6 that costs a mere £14,000 (AED 75K).

I was so busy trying to get the right angle to somehow show how big these are, I actually didn't look through any of them. Bummer. But the most exciting thing had to be meeting a salesman who my Dad used to deal with - Sharafuddin - who recognised me instantly and still very fondly remembers my Dad four years on. There you go. It's another one of the reasons I love living in Dubai.

And I have a couple of extras today... another angle of the Nikon stand and my two colleagues whom we had lunch with - Janet and Shelina. It's been a good day! Didn't make it to Cinderella though. Another time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.