Campanile Pinnacle

We parked in Milldale and walked alongside the Dove to this pinnacle.  The approach from the path wasn't nice as it was up steep scree (with added brambles), and there wasn't much space to change our shoes when we reached the foot of the rock... but I've probably been spoiled so far.

After he'd reminded me of all the safety stuff again S went off up the rock while I tried to manage the ropes.  Then it was my turn and, just as it is S who puts all the bits of 'gear' into the cracks and crevices as he climbs, so it's my job to take them out and clip them onto my harness as I go... which is ok if I can get them out easily.  I had a right job with the first bit of gear and couldn't get it to budge at all, never mind come out, and so I left it there, it being relatively low down and easy for S to get after we'd finished - although in fact he had a bit of a struggle with it too.  But by the time I'd finished trying to remove it while balancing on small footholds and clinging to a crack with my free hand, I was quite exhausted and had got both leg and arm shake and so after moving up a bit I had to have a bit of a rest before continuing.  Anyway, I did it, with the worst part being at the very top where it was a bit loose and messy.

Then we had to get down, and with it being literally just a spike of rock there was no alternative but to abseil down the back of it, which involved going over the mouth of a large cave... in a rather ungainly manner...

The extra photo is a close up of the pinnacle, but I still can't tell exactly where I climbed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.