Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

When I opened the curtains this morning and saw how much the trees were moving I knew that climbing would be off the agenda, and it was.  I haven't got too much fat left to keep me warm, and S has even less, and it's him who has to sit up top waiting for me to finish climbing the route. 

Never mind.  So with my sandwiches already made I decided to walk some of the gritstone edges, headed off to Baslow and did Birchens, White, Froggatt, Curbar, Baslow and Gardoms Edges.  We were right not to climb, the wind was blowing a howling gale, and the temperature began to drop considerably after lunch.  I know it's stupid without a helmet, but it's so tempting (even with a rucksack and big walking boots on) that I did a couple of easy little bits of climbing along Curbar Edge.

Through missing a turning after Baslow Edge I added almost another two miles to the walk, but the steep woods were smothered in bluebells and it was worth it.  I knew I wasn't going where I'd intended, but sometimes it's nice to see what a different path is like.

I wonder if my legs will ache tomorrow, as it's almost two weeks since I walked more than a couple of miles?

12.1 miles
4 hrs 30 minutes
1578 ft ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.