Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I've no idea how I got this bruise, but it appeared within twenty minutes of finishing a climb - Hargreaves' Original Route at Stanage Edge - and I don't bruise that easily.  I didn't enjoy climbing that route much, there was nothing to hold onto most of the time except small, smooth ledges and a lot of balance was required.  The guide book says that the finish is exhilarating, but I think that's just because there's actually a hold at the top!

We did three routes, the other two of which I really enjoyed, and then I had a go at leading.... unsuccessfully because I was just too tired for the first couple of awkward, low down moves.  I need to do it before I get worn out, although after yesterday's 12 miles I was probably more worn out than I usually would have been, and next time I will be able to make the required hand-jams stick.

Sunday edit:  I've just realised that the Stanage photo of a week last Friday also shows two of the routes we climbed today,  Hargreaves' Original on the left, and April Crack next to it (with the two climbers on).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.