Standen House

I am at Gatwick airport tonight ready for a flight in the morning to Jersey. I came down earlier today as a couple of friends were catching an afternoon flight and I thought I may as well give them a lift down as I was coming anyway and go somewhere else for a visit.

The weather today is dreadful - no-stop rain - and so I visited Standen House but not their lovely gardens!  It was the home of James and Margaret Beale, built by them in 1894 and dressed today for a weekend party in the 1920s.  Much of the decoration is in designs by William Morris and it feels very much a family home - they had seven children apparently.

My blip is of some glass stems in the dining room. It was so tempting to pick one up just to feel it as I suspect it was quite heavy.

Apologies for my slow responses to Wide Angle Wednesday entries - and others but it's much harder to do when on the move!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.