Two new books

Today I was designated child minder again. S was attending the Readers and Writers festival again today. She and her friend went to hear the English poet laureate (Carol Ann Duffy; the first woman to hold this  post) being interviewed by John Campbell. As an aside John Campbell has hosted a real current affairs programme on TV3 for some years now, and is about to be replaced by comedy; the people are getting too much knowledge, perhaps.

Daughter C had work to attend to; she is a teacher, and is expected to work many many hours more than she is paid for. Young L was on a "play date" (why can't kids just go to a friend's place to play?). Mr H came and amused himself quietly and let me deal with an unfinished report.

After collecting S and her friend from the Aotea Centre, taking friend home and then getting some stationery (Mr H really likes paper and writing implements), we returned to the apartment and I left for a walk along Ponsonby Road. 

Sitting on a low concrete wall was Daniel, holding his two new books. I wasn't sure if he was with another young man who had just got up from nearby to put his takeaway food wrappings into a nearby bin. As he showed no sign of getting up, I approached him, introduced myself and talked about blipfoto and that I take photos of people reading. Did he mind if I took his photo, and blipped it? 

He was fine with that. We talked about his choice of book. Both thrillers. That's the sort of book he enjoys. The one of these two which he has just started is The Fear Index by Robert Harris. I then took a couple of photos from the other angle and then when he had relaxed a little got this one. He approved of it and indeed said he liked it. I told him how to find it.

Thank you Daniel, I hope you enjoy your book about hedge funds and a computer programme over ruling the humans.

I've added an extra photo, also from Ponsonby Road. Of the Ponsonby Workingmens Club, which is a recent addition to the bars and cafes along the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.