Stroppy

If this is not this swan's name, it should be. It serially chased away at least a half dozen other black swans. In this photo it is sailing regally back to by the path we were on, satisfied in its domination over the other swans and blissfully dismissive of the ducks, geese and coots.

S went to the readers and writers sessions this afternoon accompanied by a couple of her friends, one of whom had been instrumental in encouraging her to get her first collection of poems published. They really enjoyed the last session they were at, and S has just returned.

After I have posed this we will enjoy a quiet glass and meal. 

I am adding to the extras, a photo I got which has allowed me to be 100% certain that the duck I have photographed is a Parera (the grey duck, a native species which interbreeds with the mallard). The only indicator of hybridisation is that the legs might have a bit of yellow rather than being grey/brown. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.