Dungeness Lighthouse

We took mum on a day out today, first of all visiting the historic town of Rye.  It's a really nice little town with quaint timber buildings and I climbed the tower of the church to take some aerial photos - thinking one of those would be my blip.  It was  lovely and sunny and 21 degrees, so we sat outside for lunch and then drove on to Camber Sands.  Unfortunately, dogs aren't allowed on main strip of beach so we only stopped long enough for me to take some photos and then we carried on to Dungeness.

This is somewhere that Alan's been wanting to visit for a while, and it's like entering another world.  It's a headland on the Kent coast and is one of the largest expanses of shingle in Europe and is classified as Britain's only dessert (according to Wiki).  It's now a national nature reserve with over 600 types of plants, and in total contrast, there's also a nuclear power station.

There are little shack style houses on the beach which are owned by the fishermen and their boats look like they're abandoned as they're amongst derelict huts and boats, with tractors and all kinds of motors.  It really is the most amazing place to see, and I can imagine living there at night is quite eerie as there are no street lights and no facilities other than one pub.  It supposed to be a good place for night photography though with there being no light pollution.

Anyway, I took 280 photos in total so it's taken a long time to choose my blip, but I decided it had to be a shot from Dungeness.  This is one of the two remaining lighthouses, although it's no longer in the sea as the sea has pushed back over time.  I think it gives you a feel of what the place looks like with some of the homes to the left of it, but you really do need to visit to fully appreciate the landscape.  I've posted more photos in my extra photos if you want to have a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.