The Coorong

It's been a pretty busy weekend one way or another.

Because we are Friends of the Belair National Park, and do some volunteering, we get to go on some amazing courses, and listen to some pretty incredible lecturers.

Today, we headed off to Hindmarsh Island - just off Goolwa, and did a one-day course "Introduction to Bird Watching".  It was fascinating.  The morning was spent in the lecture room, and the afternoon, we went  out into the field for some bird watching.

We had the best of best weather, stunning actually, but for me the bird watching was a tad disappointing.  The birds were all too far away for my camera, and my eyes are so bad I find it very difficult to use binoculars.  The group leader had a really good monocular he attached to a tripod, but try as I might, I just couldn't see anything though it.

So I went for a general view, because I love the colours.  And there are birds - a couple of stilts, an oyster catcher, a couple of gulls, some ibis.  But so far away, you wouldn't really know what they were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.