The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Whitethroat Singing - Newport Wetlands

There was a new scarcity at Newport Wetlands today .. in the shape of me! My first visit there since the 3rd December last year! Waaaaay too long!

This was a spur of the moment decision. I was getting a little stir crazy in the house and Dawn wanted to go for a walk. It was a glorious afternoon, so I suggested we wander down there.

It was warm enough to walk around without a coat, which was a nice surprise. 

There was enough bird activity to keep me interested. I never actually saw the cuckoo, but he was about calling. There were plenty of various warblers singing from the reeds, and Cetti's chasing along the shoreline.

The stars of the day were the Whitethroats that posed and sung obligingly as we got back to the car park, long after the visitor centre had shut.

This is without doubt the best photo of Whitethroat I have ever taken, and I didn't even take the pop bottle with me today!

Dead chuffed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.