FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Spitfire Sunday

Sunday 17 May 2015 was the 72nd anniversary of the most famous raid in RAF history with the Dambusters of 617 Squadron. Another less historic but locally significant occasion befell upon Headcorn Aerodrome today with a visit from one of the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight (BBMF) Spitfires AB910 flown by Anthony Parkinson (Parky). The aircraft was making a refuelling stop enroute to a display at Eastbourne.

The BBMF is a regular display act for the airfield's annual Military Combined Ops Air Show so it was a delight for the aircraft to land for the airfield staff, pilots, friends and visitors to see up close.

Aero Legends, who run pleasure flights in vintage aircraft including Tiger Moth, Harvard and Spitfire, were in charge of ground handling while the airfield's ATC team greeted the special visitor with their usual warm welcome.

The Lashenden Air Warfare Museum (www.lashendenairwarfaremuseum.co.uk) staff and visitors were on the apron to greet the Spitfire when it arrived at 945am along with visiting photographers and cameramen and a few pilots and friends such as me and my flying buddy Karl who were midway through prepping the Cessna to head off to Stow Maries Aerodrome.

After eight years attending air shows in various roles from sponsorship PR to ground crew to commentator I have been privileged to see the BBMF aircraft up close on several occasions including a memorable VIP day at RAF Coningsby for the lovely war veterans from the Not Forgotten Association. However I will never bore of seeing the Spitfire and as the beautiful sound of the Rolls Royce Merlin engine fills the air I get goosebumps and a lump in my throat every single time. The Spitfire to me represents freedom, beauty, British engineering and pioneering aeronautical design thanks to RJ Mitchell.

Standing in equal wonder by the BBMF Spitfire was a lovely older gentlemen, perhaps a friend of the Museum I'm not sure, who stood patiently in the background while all the avgeeks like me took photos with our smartphones. I gestured for him to step forward for a photograph and Parky waved him over for a chat. Ever the unassuming RAF pilot Parky took time to talk to him.

Last time I spoke to Parky was August last year before the BBMF display at the Combined Ops air show where I was commentating. We had a lovely chat about the aircraft being displayed which included Thumper and VERA the British and Canadian Lancasters. I didn't bother to chat with him today as others who were seeing the Spitfire for the first time were able to meet him and learn more.

I am so looking forward to commentating at my home airfield's air show again for the fourth year. If you are into vintage aircraft and vehicles then the show is August 15-16. Check out the website www.combinedops.co.uk/

Everyone at Headcorn (Lashenden) will give you a warm welcome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.