Across the field

I was wondering why parts of the field had been sectioned off with an electric fence and the horses all lead up to the top of the field when it all became clear when this huge vehicle arrived. In no time at all it had sprayed both fields. I should think it is to hopefully get rid of the dreaded Ragwort which has become a major problem in the fields. It remains poisonous to horses  even when it's dead. It always worries me when I see the sprayers  and hope that the other wildflowers, insects and birds will not be affected. All seem fine so far.
The female sparrow hawk flew into the garden and was quickly shooed off by the very protective crows who are nesting in a nearby tree.
I just about managed to see the tall ship the Flying Dutchman sail past this morning. I must have just missed it going past the Point as I had been watching the dolphins, had looked at Marine traffic and had nt spotted it until it emerged from behind the trees. It's now heading up the canal and about to reach Fort Augustus.
Not a bad day but more like April with a few more very heavy showers but plenty of sunshine and feeling , slightly, warmer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.