An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Mum...

Today you would have turned 75.   

Imagine the giggle we would have had if I still had you here....you insisting you were still in your early 70s and me insisting you were pushing 80!   "Still gorgeous" you would have said, as you pulled a grotesque face, and I would  have laughed till my sides hurt and you said "be careful, you're pelvic floor's not what it was!" and I'd reply "speak for yourself Methuselah"  and we'd laugh some more.

Sometimes it feels like yesterday since we chatted and laughed together, taking each other's company for granted, like you do.  Other times it feels like a lifetime since I felt your arm around my shoulders, squeezing me close and telling me "Chin up Di, it could be worse."

When I was awake during the night on Sunday, when my back pain was at its worse, I opened my bed side table drawer looking for some painkillers.   Like most drawers in this house, it's full of junk that I keep meaning to clear out, so I had to rummage about a bit to find the tablets.   When I eventually found them and lifted the packet out, guess what was underneath?   Yes, this photo of you.  I didn't even know it was in there!   

Oh what a sight for sore eyes.   It stopped me in my tracks.  Made me smile, cry, then smile again.  

I turned the photo over and on the back, in my gran's handwriting, it says "Oor Mag, age 10 1/2".  That made me laugh.  I bet you made her add the half!

Sleep tight mum, till we meet again x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.