Postcard from Lyttelton

Today has been a day of remembrances, and reflections of the past. First was the funeral of my oldest son's father-in-law. It was a very big funeral with people having to stand as there was now room for them all. The father-in-law came from a big Samoan family and he was also a Presbyterian Minister. It was interesting hearing about his life.

Next I went out for lunch with my friend. She has been wanting to take me out for some time for lunch, as a thank you for all the things I done for her recently. My friend grow up in Lyttelton, but since the earthquakes hasn't been able to face going through the tunnel to get there. She manage to go the for her mothers funeral a couple of weeks ago and thought it was time to face the drive herself. And she did well after all the worry she had about it and is so pleased with herself.

It was a beautiful day over there and was sheltered from the Nor'West wind we had in the city had, and it was so warm. My friend was showing me the houses that she had lived in and telling me all about the things she got up to as a child. She sure had a exciting childhood! And we had a fantastic lunch while looking over the harbour.

I am feeling rather washed out so may have a early night. The cold weather is on its way later tonight with hale storms and snow on the hills. It is still lovely outside yet.. so it may pass us over if we are lucky!

The extra photos are of the Lyttelton harbour

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.