A chilly night for Moma & Popa Robin

Dear Diary,

The thermometer hovered around the freezing mark last night and I was tempted to bring a wee blanket out to the apple tree but I'm sure they wouldn't have understood my sentiment.  We barely avoided a frost and this morning the expectant family is doing well.  Mom was nestled on her nest and Pop was sounding the alarm from a nearby apple tree but I assured them I would be quick about it and would leave them in peace.

Every May it is a ritual to find where Mr. & Mrs. Robin have constructed their nest this year.  This one is in the 70 year old apple tree not far from the house.  It is well off the ground and tucked into a secure notch of branches.  I will keep an eye on it, from a safe distance, to see when the eggs hatch!  Big happenings at Stone Mountain Farm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.