sling, rope, carabiner

Yesterday S and I went to a different climbing wall, Alter Rock, which as the name suggests is in a disused church and has more top-roped high climbs and less bouldering than the usual place. 

The purpose of the visit was to give me some practise with handling the rope proficiently.  After all S puts his life in my hands each time he climbs with me and I need to know what I'm doing, so we took turns with climbing/abseiling down and with controlling the rope. 

At one point his feet slipped - which may have been on purpose - and he fell off the wall, but the system worked and I held him steady, and I was quite relieved that his falling weight didn't lift me off the floor!

S has sent me home with a selection of equipment so that I can practise belay arm/hand movements at home while he's away climbing for a couple of weeks, so I'd better do myself proud and show some improvement on his return.  My God this man is a flippin' challenge.

p.s. The year-ago blip featured ropes of a different kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.