peterdawson

By peterdawson28

A fly in the ointment

So on a gloriously sunny morning I threw the camera kit in the bag, grabbed my spare battery (as I remembered that the one in the camera was running low) and off I headed to Hampton Court to get more and better bug/flower shots than yesterday and to take a walk through Home Park to snap a few deer - what could possibly go wrong?

After an hour or so of happily snapping away and getting some ok images I even decided to shoot a little video of a very fat bumble bee who's wings hadn't yet dried out. The video was pretty poor but what the hell I was doing it mainly to run the battery right down before switching over.

After another 15 minutes or so during which I caught both this fly and the bee in the extra shot the battery duly expired and I switched over to the spare......and that my friends was what could possibly go wrong - the spare battery was as flat as a pancake as well. Were I not such a well mannered individual I would have turned the air bluer than this little chap's backside - sometimes I despair at my own stupidity!

So the plan for tomorrow, weather permitting, is to go back yet again but this time with two fully charged batteries, a couple of spare CF cards and anything else I can carry and might need to see if I can complete Mission All Too Possible :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.