carliewired

By carliewired

Waiting at the Crossing

It should have been a
quick trip home but the railway
crossing was busy!

~ carliewired

We have two major construction projects underway in our city. One is adding a parkade to our hospital. That causes an inconvenience for some. The other is a major "renovation" to our central bridge, which is a miserable disruption to most of us. 

Closing or limiting use of one bridge has thrown traffic onto the two remaining bridges. At peak periods in the morning and afternoon, those two routes are hugely overloaded. 

Moving around the city during the day takes some planning and decison-making. Today, I left the downtown at rush hour. Bad timing! I took the closest route home but it was slow-going all the way home. 

The last lap of the journey required me to cross the Canadian National Railway lines near my house. When I got to the crossing the train was moving across it. Traffic waited for the train to clear the lines and for the barriers to lift. 

I pulled onto the shoulder of the road to wait my turn in the line up. I could watch the train in my rear view mirror so I had some idea when the wait would be over. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.