SilverImages

By SilverImages

Worcester Cathedral

"As I make my slow pilgrimage through the world, a certain sense of beautiful mystery seems to gather and grow."
A.C.Benson

Not sure if it was the early morning sun or the traffic passing by that woke me this morning.  Either way I was ready to get some photographs at 6.30am.  My little pilgrimage to Leicestershire to visit a couple is the result of a chance comment on a Caribbean cruise last November.   He told me he'd recently completed building his house, I told him I do illustrated features for magazines; and so we agreed to follow it up when we got home.

Spent the morning finishing off photographing the house and chatting to get the story.  By lunchtime we were done, time to head "south" for home.

I remember brother-in-law J commenting, after I'd told him of our visit to Salisbury, that Worcester has a lovely cathedral.  So I take a detour and visit The Worcester Pilgrim.  A warm welcome on my arrival and directed to the Jesus Chapel for my Meditation to begin the visit.  Seems to fit in with Life at the moment.  Watched "The Way" recently, by Emilio Estevez, a moving portrayal of a father taking the pilgrimage to Santiago after his son dies in a storm in the Pyrenees as he undertakes it. 
Last year I took a few personal pilgrimages of my own, meeting a fellow retreatant on Caldey Island who'd recently completed the Camino de Santiago.  There was also a photography presentation at the Llantarnam Abbey retreat last July by a pilgrim [the theme was Pilgrimqge].  And so it all sort of fits rather neatly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.