pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Victorian beauty

That undoubtedly describes Jarretts Cottage - our home for the past 13 years.

I got up early as my body clock has adjusted to school bus catching time now. My dentist appointment was 9am and I left the house at 7.50 for the 5 mile journey. Travelling across or round Cambridge is always a nightmare - & I really don't miss it. It took me 50 minutes.

My teeth were fine, and I always think it is odd that this lovely young Polish dentist compliments me on my 'very good' teeth when they are so full of fillings. Anyway, that check up may be my last with him. But he is so nice...so maybe I'll return annually rather than try and find someone new.

I spent the rest of the morning packing more bags and boxes. I also found time to go and say hello to my old neighbours Wendy (seventy something) and her amazing mum Marjorie who is 104. They still feel upset by what has happened to the Rangers, and the whole community spirit we had. I fear that Cambridge Past Present & Future will evict Wendy when Marjorie passes. They are pretty ruthless, and Wendy is not the tenant - yet has lived in this tiny prefab bungalow all her life. I do hope I'm wrong.

When Mollie returned from college, happy with how her latest exam went, we filled the car, to bursting. Still so much to move though, but by 1.30 we were on our way back to Gresham. So was everyone else it seemed! But it is a bank holiday!

Once we'd arrived and unpacked we headed to Morrisons. I bought 'The Theory of Everything'...I don't normally buy dvd's but I had particularly wanted to see this film. So tonight, we've eaten a very nice egg salad courtesy of Babs, Mins & Dots - and I've done an early blip so that I can settle down to watch the film!

Hoping for a pleasant weekend :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.