FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Friday Failures

A lot went wrong with technology today making for a fraught day that felt like one failure after another.

First thing my internet banking crashed then my printer wouldn't talk to my computer, then my wifi kept cutting out and so I had to restart a Skype conference call several times, then my computer crashed just as I was saving an important document!! Argh!!!

The computer crash meant I'd lost an hour's work and had to redo it in 25 minutes. At this point steam was coming out my ears as I was due on my evening shift at the Castle in 30 minutes. Luckily my lovely colleague covered me but it was far from ideal.

Document redone (actually turned out better in the end as I kept it simple) but now I was running seriously behind so I was even more frustrated to find my car wouldn't **bleeping** start. I nearly got a branch to start hitting it like Basil Fawlty!! After a few minutes - at which point I wanted to cry probably due to hunger and dehydration as I hadn't had time to stop since breakfast - the car eventually started.

Evening reception seemed to pass by relatively stress free although I was none to amused when the photocopier kept jamming and the security barrier didn't want to go up at one point. By the time I finished my shift at 10pm all I wanted to do was cry. But life is too short so I went to the metro supermarket and bought some pretty pot plants and some wine instead.

This morning before everything went horribly wrong I had a nice trip into the village to buy some groceries. I try to support local shops as much as possible and there was a lovely buzz around the village square in the morning sunshine.

I picked up a copy of the Daily Telegraph at my village newsagent as an aviation buddy had a photograph published today from a photo flight he did last week.

It was a photograph of the RAF Typhoon and BBMF Hurricane in military colours to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Battle of Britain this year. It's the kind of photograph that makes you proud to be British. And I'm allowed to say that as every single piece of technology that went wrong on me today was built abroad!!

I blame the stars anyway as Mercury is in Retrograde. See here: http://astrologyzone.com/forecasts/mercury.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.