Bizarre special effect of the day....

This afternoon on our walk through the woods I noticed this huge cloud of midges swirling around very fast over the water in the beck - the sun, off to the right, was picking them out light little beacons.

I had my little Lumix camera with me and I took a shot without realising that it had switched to Shutter Priority with a speed of 1/30" (rather than the Aperture Priority I  normally use).

I was surprised to see the little trail patterns created by the wing movements of the midges - thought it was really bizarre. The autofocus has locked on to the vegetation on the far bank, but when I tried to get a manual focus on the midges the sun had gone and so too had the shot!

Earlier in the day, on the way to Tadcaster, I drove though Newton Kyme and came across a lamb wandering in the road. I was bleating to mum through the hedge and fence, but didn't seem too bothered as it kept wandering off to munch on some hedge plants! I stopped to take some shots of some of the lambs and sheep- cue cute snaps in the 'extras'. As I drove away the 'escapee' was joined by a couple of other youngsters making a bid for freedom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.