Freedom Tower, New York

After only one night at home, I was back at work today.  Poor Dolly - she had a very grumpy look on her face as she watched me repack my bag and get my uniform on.  When I dropped her off at the dog-sitters again, she wouldn't even look at me when I tried to kiss her goodbye!

I flew to Newark, a trip I don't do very often.  We usually stay in a suburban hotel in New Jersey (which we are not happy about) but occasionally that hotel is full and we get to stay in Manhattan (where we would rather be for every trip).  I was delighted to find out that today was one of those days!  We landed late in the evening and got to the hotel just in time for a snack and a drink with some of the crew.  The restaurant at the hotel overlooks what was the location of the World Trade Center's Twin Towers.  The site is now the National September 11 Memorial & Museum.  Adjacent to that site is the newly finished One World Trade Center, also called 'Freedom Tower'.  Later this month the observatory on the 100th floor opens to the public.  

Since I work for one of the airlines used in the 9/11 attacks, this site will always be sobering and yet I love it too and I love the resilience of the people of New York these past years.  I visited the memorial just over a year ago and I used it as my blip for Mar 18th, 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.