Lady on the Iris

Today we went to the Dexter Iris Garden in Deming. I had read about it in the paper. Oddly, just a few days ago, I was enjoying the iris in our garden and thinking I'd like to get some more in different colors. Most of ours are purple. Then yesterday there was an article in our paper about this garden. Aha! Seemed like a good outing for us all. I expected quite a large spread based on the write up. We were all surprised to find a smallish garden. But there any concern ended because it was filled with all kinds of varieties of iris and they were gorgeous and mostly in bloom. I picked ten varieties and ordered rhizomes when they are available late this summer.

After we explored the garden, we continued our drive up Mt Baker Highway until we reached Il Cafe Refugio. We like this little Italian restaurant and its owner Richard very much. A few years ago I had a show of my paintings there and he sold one for me. He happily greeted us and we all enjoyed a delicious late lunch there. I had an Italian grilled cheese sandwich with salad and Arvin had a Rubin with yam fries. Helena had a bit of each with the grilled cheese and fries. It was all delicious. At the end I asked what the sign meant that said "Donuts fried to order" and he answered with six little round donuts hot from the pan with a yummy compote of rhubarb and balsamic vinegar. Oh baby they were good.

Now we are home. Arvin and Helena are resting and I'm working on my photo book and doing my blip. Helena was the one who pointed out this little ladybug on the blue iris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.