Slow cooker apples

Domestic and errand day Saturday.

Fortunately not too much domestics as I'd done a Super Woman thing late Friday. The most exciting errand was going to pick up a new fishing rod. A bit of birthday money and a bit of pocket money saving. Now I have a boat rod suited to when the trout (and salmon in some lakes) go deep in the lakes. I'll be test driving it next weekend :-)

Unusually for me I made an unplanned purchase as well. I bought a new fish smoker. It's my little present to myself for my new job. My old smoker was a Warehouse cheapie. It did me well but it had some faults, like the bricks I'd pile on top to stop it buckling in the heat.

The new smoker is heavier and a better design. As luck would have it, I missed a couple of trout and a salmon last week and they're thawing today ready to smoke tomorrow.

I have friends for dinner tonight. The stuffed apples cooked in the slow cooker as a dessert experiment. Since this is a back blip I can tell you they worked. Very yummy :-)

I guess the slow cooker is an upside to our fast approaching winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.