Woolly fence

I didn't plan an early morning but I woke early and was worrying about the issue that is making my exit from my job more difficult than it needs to be.

I planned an email to write later and headed up the hills. It was a little bracing but not too bad. Any discomfort was outweighed by seeing the light of a new day creep across the sky. Not surprisingly I didn't see anyone else.

I dealt with my email. It's out of my hands now and what will be will be.

The most surprising part of my day was the painter turned up and 2 weeks short of 1 year my quake repairs are finally complete :-)

After repeated failures to turn up, bring the right tools etc I'd decided to no longer pursue and pay someone instead. I got a message on Friday telling me the painter would do his best to come Sunday.

I held it lightly and decided I'd be here just in case her showed up, but not count on it. I'm grateful I was never rude to him (although I certainly felt like it). There is an old saying about not burning bridges and I try not to do that in life. I'm glad I didn't in this case and I think there is a life lesson in it.

Yesterday I cut my thumb on the apple corer. With the use a couple of pairs of disposable gloves I sorted the remaining trout and salmon I missed in the freezer last week. The new smoker is a pleasure to use, a completely different experience to the old one. It's still a hot (rather than cold smoker) but it has some control over heat and smokiness. I'm going to have a lot of fun with this :-)

The freshly smoked salmon I had for dinner was superb.

Just as I finished the smoking process the cold southerly arrived. It's a lot colder out there now. I'm a staunch woman but a realist too. Looking at the weather map the wind will be ferocious tomorrow and that doesn't make for safe biking in poor light. I'll be taking my car to work.

Dad, you'll be pleased to read that :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.