"Imagination is more important than knowledge"

Dear Diary,

The quote above is from Albert Einstein and it always hung in my classroom during my years of teaching.  It is something I've cultivated all my life.  This is the time of year, when I was teaching in the elementary school, that I would begin my final Grade One unit on storytelling culminating with our field trip to build fairy houses in a nearby park. (I still build them here and there and I will post one this summer!)

I created my fairy photograph using my newly acquired, but not perfected, skill of digital collage.  The tree with the wee door is in my yard but I added the tiny visitor.  My friends embraced my somewhat whimsical nature by giving me the sign to place nearby and a parent gave me my hat to wear on our field trip. 

This love of story telling, the world of imagination and the delight in the "little people" are all part and parcel of who I am.  I prefer to live in a world where everything need not be scientifically proved.  I welcome the magic I see around me every day...I don't always need to know the "whys".


Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen. - Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.