Traveling Back in Time

Dear Diary,

When I acquired my great great grandfather's common book which began with 1839 I knew I had to re-visit Old Sturbridge Village.  It is 1839 there everyday!  I was the first one there when they opened so I had the village to myself for a short time.  As I walked the dirt road I felt as if I had left 2016 behind completely.  The sun was shinning, the little lambs were baaing in the field and I felt transported back in time.

I visited the Friend's Meeting House first, Richard and Margaret were Quakers, and then on to the farmhouse.  What I love so much about the village is that it doesn't try to "pretty things up".  The grass isn't mowed neatly and things have a very authentic feel about them.  I spent the most time at the farm as you can imagine and it didn't take me long to see the farmer (extra shot) and his wife as Richard and Margaret.

More photographs of the village...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.