Planting the Cemetery

Dear Diary,

Finally, I got smart and brought my gardening stool to plant the cemetery for the 28th time.  What a difference it made.  The rain they were promising held off so I was able to accomplish the task without getting soaked.  A  lady walked by with her bulldog Hannah and we chatted for awhile.  I always meet the nicest people.

Afterwards, I drove through my old home town.  It always amazes me how much has changed but tucked here and there amongst the new was a glimpse of the old and each triggered a memory.  I'll have to plan to spend more time there this year.

Off this morning to visit Old Sturbridge Village.  It was a favorite of mine 30 years ago.  It is an entire village of around 1830 created with authentic buildings moved there.  It is another one of my genealogical "road trips".  My great great grandfather began farming in the early 1830's and I have his common book.  So, in a little while I will be stepping back 180+ years!  I do love to time travel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.