A Bit of Serendipity

Dear Diary,

I volunteered for the Maine Historical Society's annual fundraiser The Magical History Tour in Portland.  There were 12 possible places they could have assigned me but I got the waterfront to talk about shipbuilding and seafaring in the 19th century!  Could anything be more perfect after all my genealogical research on my 4X great grandfather, the shipbuilder in Portland in the late 18th and early 19th century, and  my 3X great grandfather, the captain on one of his ships?  Serendipity indeed!

Before my shift, I visited the Custom House, not the one Captain Howell would have used that burned in the great fire of 1866.  It was still fascinating and I learn so much about early Portland.  We climbed up to the cupola for the view and I got to also see a gull on her nest close-up.  She even stood up so I could photograph the eggs, very accommodating of her I thought.

I was stationed in the Portland Yacht Yard where a schooner (the Captain sailed a schooner!) was being restored.  I was able to tell my ancestor's stories to over 150 people in 3 hours and I think they really appreciated my direct connection to the sailing history of Portland.  I also told them that the first ship building in Maine was done in 1607, 13 years before the Pilgrims in Plymouth, at the Popham Colony near present day Bath.  The colony didn't last long but Maine does claim the distinction of being the location for the first ship building enterprise in the new world.

I am off today to go to Massachusetts to plant the cemetery of my parents and grandmother for Memorial Day so my comments will be spotty at best.  Have a great Sunday everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.