The Raven Keeper

Tony opted out of the urban orienteering today as he is still full of cold so it was left to me  to run around Knaresborough or to be more exact around a housing estate in Knaresborough - not the most scenic or challenging urban events I've done!  It would have been good to at least pass through the historic part of the town but there you go.

After my run Tony took me back to the cafe where he had passed the hour waiting for me to return and we had coffee and cake.  We also took a turn around the ruins of the Castle and spoke to The Keeper of the Ravens.  Apparently the castle belongs to the Queen as part of the Duchy of Lancaster and back in 2000 it was decided to have a northern version of the Tower of London.  Two captive born ravens were introduced which, because of their popularity and the permission of HRH Prince Charles, have been allowed to remain.   Others, including a white necked raven (which I thought was a magpie!), have been added to the collection.  The keeper had just asked this bird if it was 'all right' and it replied, 'Yeh, I'm all right"!

In the background you can see the houses which overlook the railway viaduct bridge and the River Nidd in the valley.  See Kiteseeker's blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.