Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Another day... another dragon

I couldn't resist this one - it's a juvenile male Common Whitetail, one of the most common and widespread dragons in the US.  The adult males have a chalky whitish blue abdomen, hence the name "whitetail."  They are lethal hunters, snatching their prey from the air.  Between hunting flights, they can often be found perched, just like this.  

Once again today, the yard was buzzing with dragons.  I don't remember such a large number of them in past years, but perhaps I just wasn't paying attention.  Lots of little bees about, and several butterflies.  Since I was working in the yard, I put a feeder out and was immediately rewarded by chickadees and titmice.  No signs of Bruinhilda ... thank goodness.

Hubs raced again this morning, and again captured 3rd place.  All in all, a great weekend for him!  He's on his way back now and should be arriving home any minute.  Maybe we'll have margaritas on the deck...

Nice chat with my parents this morning - all is well in their world and I'm looking forward to seeing them in a few weeks.  

The poor little wren ... he is singing nearly non-stop from sunup to sundown, trying to attract a new mate.  He continues to work on the primary nest box in between songs.  It makes me sad that he lost his mate, and I do hope another female comes along for him before the nesting season is over.  

Happy Sunday, people!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.