Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Forget them not...

Today is Memorial Day in the US, a day where the men and women who have given their lives in service of our country are remembered and honored.  I feel truly fortunate that both of my nephews returned from multiple deployments in the Middle East ... but so many didn't. I hope that I live to see a day when diplomacy and respect can conquer the differences in this world ... but in the meantime, we should all take a moment to stop and remember those who have served and paid the ultimate price for their countries around the world.  My image today is of a small blue flower commonly called "forget-me-not" - I thought it appropriate for the day.

Hubs and I went to the NJ Botanical Gardens today - it was sunny, warm and very peaceful and we enjoyed wandering and snapping shots of this and that ... and of each other.  Both of us feature in the Extras today.  

While we were enjoying our margaritas on the deck last night, Bruinhilda suddenly appeared on our patio.  Hubs did the right thing by making lots of noise while I quickly aborted our plans to eat dinner on the deck.  She skulked off into the woods.  It is really surprising how quietly a big animal like that can move. Hubs was sitting there reading an article while I was inside getting things ready to bring out and he said he never knew she was there until he caught movement and saw her practically right below him next to the deck.  Yikes.

The cat wars status is day-to-day.  A small skirmish broke out last night but I was able to divert their attention and eventually they both settled down for the night.  More of the same this morning.  Sigh...

TTFN

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.