FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Bank Holiday Birdie

The cutest things come in small packages. This little baby African Spotted Eagle Owl, one of the newest additions to the Leeds Castle falconry family, is no exception.

I visited the Castle today with one of my old school friends and her children for a day being tourists. The grounds look their most beautiful in the spring time, thanks to the wonderful gardeners and grounds teams, and we were spoilt with sunshine and a warm day.

In the Culpeper Garden my friend was delighted to discover lots of alliums - her favourite flower - showcased in vibrant lilac among an unusual tubular flower. My gardener buddy told me later it's called a persicaria bistorta or more commonly known as 'superbum'. Not a name I would've guessed!

We rode Elsie the land train, bought bouncy glitter balls in the shop, got lost in the maze and spotted swans and other birds nesting around the Great Water.

While delivering chocolate cakes to my pals in the Falconry Department we were lucky enough to meet this fluffy new addition to the Falconry family. Nicknamed Travis or Alfie (they can't decide on a name), he (or she) happily flapped its wings, nibbled our fingers and tried to eat my phone.

The Falconry demo was jam-packed with visitors today who were captivated by the two barn owls, a European Eagle Owl (Mozart my favourite), a Turkey Vulture and a Harris Hawk commentated most professionally by Reece who is new to running the demos (mighty fine job he did too).

My friend asked me if I knew how many times I'd seen the demo in the past year or so and whether I ever got bored of it. My reply was "I haven't counted but lots. No show is ever the same. The birds and falconers always put on a great show, it makes me laugh when they don't behave and I always learn something new!"

Well you can take a PR girl out of the Castle but you can't take the Castle out of this PR girl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.