Capital adventures

By marchmont

Travelling

Not the giant teddy bear, but another bit of public art at Hamid International Airport, Doha.

Left Malaysia just after midnight, through immigration that is.  Had about 90 minutes hanging around before boarding the 3 a.m. flight.  My back was bad and I just couldn't get comfortable.  Much walking up and down.  The A330 is not my favourite plane.  After 4 ibuprofen and 2 lots of freeze gel I did manage to doze off and the back and legs did get a bit better.

Transfer around Doha airport.  I used some of the leftover Vietnam $$ to buy a bottle of Tanqueray.

The second flight was much better.  The plane was half empty and so I got 3 seats to stretch out across. Qatar is good, but I wouldn't say great so don't know who awarded them awards.  Food is below average and the crew can be a bit offhand, but smile a lot.

I finished 'The Girl on the Train'  At times it was my story, my pain, my stupidity, but not the murder and violence I'm happy to say.

We landed at 1 and I was home just after 2, unpacked and showered and off to the Manor by 3.30.  It is fresh (v welcome), chilly and windy here.  I still have the heating on.  the house (and garden) still appear to be in one place.

Well, I've kept going till 10, but I'm now hitting the wall, so off the bed. Work tomorrow.

Stop press family news:  S has finally got round to asking H (my goddaughter) to marry him.  It's such an old fashioned way of doing things.  And got home to an email to tell me that Olivia can do the complete crawl - and I missed it, well done my girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.