pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Friends come visiting!

Today I didn't wake too early, but when I did was pleased to see the sun shining.

Once up and dressed for the day I let out and fed the hens, and washed up last nights stuff. I stayed up to see the UK gain a whole 5 points in the Eurovision, and at midnight couldn't face washing up.

The house was tidy for once and my good friends Karen & Neil arrived at about mid day. Not that they would worry if it wasn't tidy, but it was at least clean. As Jon and Henry are away at their Bushcraft weekend in the midlands somewhere, I actually have enough beds to sleep everyone! 

We decided to make the most of a bit of sun, and sat outside the summer house to drink coffee and eat cakes. 

We had lots to say - we always do! Karen and I first worked together at Herts CC in about 1986 and then met again at Cambs CC in 1989 when we hit it off fairly quickly; As well as working together, and being new to Cambridge I joined The Camtown Ladies, a barbershop ladies group that Karen belonged to, she took me along at a 'bring a friend' night. We then worked in pensions together for another 10 years - and sang too. I have many happy memories and stories from those days. 

When the light showers became heavy, we headed back indoors for a late lunch. Neil disappeared later to the peace and quiet of the summerhouse - and in the rain was spotted with the door open, and a coat over his knees! We love his individuality! He removed the coat for my photo :-)

As the rain died down we went into Cromer for a wander. It was full of holidaymakers; blooming tourists! We went down onto the pier where many crabs were being caught. Then up the coast and back into the high street. It was good to see the sea, and feel the holiday atmosphere, and good to get home for a nice cup of tea - back in the summerhouse of course!

We had a nice dinner together, a couple of bottles of wine, and more chatting. Neil plans a very early morning ride out to the coast. We've said don't wake us.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.