Road works? Does it?

I've just done my blip. It failed. I wrote loads. I cant do it again. Computer is crap and now my phone too. The day wasn't that bad really, but I'm going to bed now. Here is my unfinished poem....designed to reflect what I see each morning as I sit in a jam caused by the building of the Norwich Northern Distributer Road....due to take another year to build. Joy.

New Road
A barren view. Void of colour.
Senses saddened.
this clawing, digging,
scraping, as metal teeth
ravage the belt of green.
Beauty built over millennia
Extinguished in the blink
Of a dust filled eye.
The roots. Piled like bones
A dead carcass of Oak.
Litter now waiting for collection.
Planners. They said yes.
The farmer?
I visualise £s rolling
In cartoon eyes. They win.
But smallest voices, of mouse, vole,
Toad, mole. Who heard these?
Who actually cares?
More roads. More greedy, lazy
Bodies.
Fat wallets somewhere.
Loss of priceless, irreplaceable, treasures of nature.
All this. The world we choose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.