Cousins!

What a lovely day I have had. Spent at the Orchard Tea Rooms in Granchester with my lovely cousin Graham. He had made a short stop over in the UK, arriving Monday evening, and flying out Friday, so it was a challenge to work out how we were going to meet up. The rest of the family are all still in Hoddesdon, so with me being 100 miles north east, we decided to meet in Cambridge.

We couldn't have asked for better weather, and apart from high car park charges, and the need to constantly feed the meter, we had the perfect location for a family afternoon together. As Manda has already posted a photo to facebook of 5 of us, I chose this one, taken just after I got there. It was so lovely to get a big hug from the New Zealand cousin I last saw in 1992. It didn't feel like 25 years had passed. We do 'chat' using social media, but it isn't the same as meeting in person. When will I see him again? I would dearly love to get out to New Zealand for a holiday. A long one. I wish I was brave enough to grab life by the short and curlies, and throw caution to the wind.....but that just isn't me. But I am thinking about how I could get all 5 of us there for a holiday of a lifetime, before it is too late. As I said yesterday, I can dream!

So it was a two hour drive down, and nice too to see Jon. He joined us for coffee. After our day all together, and lunch in the sun, and beautiful location of the orchard, we hugged goodbye, and I left. Driving first to the Magog Down again to see Jon before I left. Then I dropped in on my friend Polly in Burwell before the drive home.

At Brandon, 40 minutes in to my drive, I stopped as Tesco to buy some rolls. A packet of 6 finger of fudge jumped into my basket, and on the final drive back, I accidentally ate 3 of them. That isn't going to help get me thinner.....must try harder.

Home about 7.20, washed up (Henry's stuff, yes, I should have made him do it) and another lovely surprise. Some beautiful flowers through the post as a thank you for altering a friend's necklace. Thank you Teresa, you didn't need to, but it was a lovely gesture, and I appreciate it.

Mollie was still at work, so I drove in to collect her and her bike, doing some shopping at Morrisons while I waited for her.

It has been a busy day. My head is just starting to feel a bit funny, but it has been worth it. So thank you Graham, Manda, Mum, Dad and Jon for a lovely family day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.