Mum & Eric - the Antiques Roadshow on Cromer Pier

We have had a fantastic day in Cromer today,  enjoying the atmosphere, the queues, the sun and the celebrity experts! 

We had planned to arrive at 8 to queue, as I mentioned yesterday. The weather was glorious, and the queue very small. Everyone was very chatty and soon the time passed and at 9 we were shuffling along, and getting our treasures allocated to the various experts. Tickets for jewellery, ceramics, glass, pictures and miscellaneous. For each item we had to queue again, some queues being much longer than others. Then, invariably, as you approached the front of the queue the person in front would have something special that they wanted to film, and the expert would be whisked away, not to be seen again for half an hour!!

Nevertheless, we saw all the experts who were all so charming, and knowledgeable. Regardless of how many people were in the queue they made time to talk to us, and tell us about our items. That is what we went for really, as we knew we didn't have any thing of value, but I was quite excited to find the tine bone container I took, was actually an ivory needle holder, probably made in the 1860s. My costume jewellery pendant was 1900 and has a stone missing from the middle - I hadn't realised there was supposed to be one! 

Mum was particularly charmed by Eric Knowles, one of the most popular and recognisable experts. He had a joke with all of us, and told us about the 'satsuma-ware' which is what mum's little vases are. Christina also saw him with her Scandinavian glass pieces.

When we had finished there, we went in to the town and ate our lunch in the sun. Dad came to collect Mum and Christina, and Mollie and I headed back for more! I saw Paul Atterbury, who was really nice, and explained about the old camera's I had taken along. While queuing along the seafront, we watched them filming a few items, which was quite interesting.

In all a really nice day out. We are now rich in knowledge if not in pocket! If the Antiques Roadshow comes to film in your town, I recommend you go! A free fun day out! It is my third time now (in 22 years!!) and I have found something new (old) to take every time!!

See my extras for a few more of the day, including one of Fiona Bruce being given a piggy back on the beach!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.