Charity match

We had a lie it today. Bliss. I got up at 7.30. The sun was shining and we had breakfast in the conservatory. At 9 we drove in to Cromer to do the shopping, then walked into town to buy jeans for Henry and have an early coffee break in Huckleberries. I haven't been in this cafe before but Mollie and Jon rate it. It was nice, but doesn't have the ambience of Hatters.

After more coffee back home, all 4 of us non workers (Dan was the only one at work today) took our tents up to the scout hut and put them up ready for tomorrow night: our luxury post party accomodation!!

Lunch in the garden, and it was so hot. I hope it's like this tomorrow. Jon went to the osteopath, Henry and Mollie painted the wall in Henry's bedroom and I cleaned the bathroom. Then I drove over to Aylsham with Henry and bought a headboard for his bed. Long boring story, but suffice to say it was a bargain at £30.

I went down the allotment for a while, to check on the chickens and plant my runner beans. It is such a sun trap, the ground is so hard. I watered everything. It was when I went to fill up the chickens water that I noticed only 2 hens, and that they were huddled together just in front of the door. Feathers were blocking the doorway....It was Babs. She wasn't alive. So I fished her out by her feet, via the hole next to the nest box. She was laying spreadeagled, and there was an egg in the nest box, bless her. I think she was my only layer. So Minnie and Dots are on their own now. I will think about hatching some more later in the summer, if Jon lets me.

Back home, H & Moll had made pizza from scratch. A tasty dinner, and then we piled into the car. Daniel was playing football with his work mates in a charity match against another Cromer work group. We went along to watch, and actually enjoyed it. Well, I went and sat in the car about 20 minutes before the end, but I watched most of it. They won 4 - 1 and I managed to snap this picture and Dan actually has the ball at this point!

We got home at 8.30, relieved to see mum and dad car parked outside their house. They have been so determined to join us at our party, and I'm so pleased they've made it. Dad drove all the way. Ive sent them to bed early, with instructions to ask me if there is anything they want. I don't want them going out for a pint of milk or loaf of bread. Tomorrow will be a busy day, but not too busy that I can't help out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.