Another VE Day buffet lunch?

I am already trying to remember what I did today, but mostly it was spent baking for our non traditional Sunday dinner. We decided to change it up a bit, and had planned a VE Day style buffet. I made sausage rolls this morning, which only meant making a bit of pastry - I know lots of people prefer bought frozen pastry, but I’ve always made mine. I stripped some cheap sausages and added chilli flakes and cayenne to one lot, and herbs to the other. Mollie made some tasty pesto, sunflower seed and parmesan muffins. We baked them all in mums oven nextdoor after the disaster we had with scones in my cooker yesterday. It has confirmed that a new cooker needs to move to the top of our priority list. I had cooked the vol au vents yesterday so just had to fill them...only to discover we didn’t have any seafood sauce. So made some using an online recipe and it worked out well.

Lunch at 1.30 in a chilly garden, with lots of pretty plates, and vintage bits and pieces that hardly ever get used. Why have them if we aren’t going to use them!

After lunch, I planted a couple of my tomato plants in big pots, together with some french beans in another pot, while Jon fixed a new hose on the wall nextdoor for mum and dad. We just want them to be able to visit now!!

I potted up the chilli plants into bigger pots, and the same with my remaining cauliflowers. I’ve already killed one lot, so will be a miracle if these get to cauliflower stage, but I have to give every seedling a chance!

Did a bit of knitting later on, and now am trying to set up my family tree on wiki tree where Manda has actually already done it, so trying to work out how we link them, so that I don’t have to replicate it all. It is a free site, unlike Ancestry so long term it is better for me to have this one as my 6 months access to Ancestry was a Christmas present and runs out in June. If I can find the time, I do want to develop my Norfolk roots as a focus, and also to add the Gibbs as a separate tree.

Just relaxing now. TV I expect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.