The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Saturday Adventures

We all woke with a sore head on Saturday morning but with no kids in the house at least it was at a reasonable time. 

We then got ready and headed out to pick up the kids which took a bit of tracking down.   We finally found them at their Granma's house and they were absolutely insane with energy and excitement when we got there.  Niamh completely by passed me and her mum and went straight for Uncle Steve.  Aidan then went to show us his climbing skills on the tree in the garden - the boy is a monkey!

We went for a walk to the park in the afternoon and then on the way back my sister thought it would be great to take the kids through the cricket park and then climb up the hill by the burn that we played by as kids.  Unfortunately this pathway has not quite been used the way it was when we were younger so the path was overgrown and the worn steps in the hillside up to the street were no longer defined.  I insisted that this was a really bad idea but my sister, responsible mother of 2 still thought this was fun.  None of us had the right footwear for this.  Poor Aidan was sent up first with Jo behind trying desperately not to slip and then when he got stuck he had to call for help which some kind neighbours provided and pulled him up.  Jo, Steve and Aidan ended up at the top and Niamh and I were stuck at the bottom.  Niamh just looked at me and said "I don't think we should be going up this way!".  

I had little choice by this point though so picking Niamh up, trying to secure my camera with the other hand I had to carry her up while some little boys also cleared some of the nettles and branches for us.  Got her there in the end but not without some scratches on us both.

We then all enjoyed some sunshine before heading out for an early dinner and then home to bed (for the kids) and eurovision for us.  It was pretty pants this year.

I have added an extra photo with this entry as I couldn't decide whether I wanted Aidan looking thoughtful or Niamh and Steve should be the pic for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.