Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Re-routing...

Re-calculating route...
Re-routing....
Aaarrgh!

I'm currently using the Mapfactor Navigator app as an alternative to Googlemaps because it uses GPS and not the internet, which is very useful in the wilds of Derbyshire.  It's not bad on main roads except when it leaves instructions slightly too late, but on minor roads and back streets it tends to be too vague which leads to me misunderstanding the 'instructions'.  Oh well, nothings perfect and it is free.

There was a Ramblers walk I wanted to do this morning, even though it began at 10.30am, I didn't get home from work until 9.50am and the journey time was calculated as being 38 mins....  But I made up a bit of time on the way and thought I'd be ok, until I got within two miles of the meeting point when the traffic became heavy and the app began to confuse.  The trouble was the walk began from Alton - as in Alton Towers - and put together with Bank Holiday Monday I really should have known not to bother!

So I came home and decided to do a walk I've been meaning to do for several weeks, following the River Derwent from Elvaston into Derby town centre.  What a lovely walk it was, with barely any sign that I was passing through suburbs/industrial areas and no inkling of town centre until I emerged at the bus station.  Swans and ducks, a rabbit, lots of wild flowers and the May trees are absolutely smothered with blossom this year, and the most prolific of the flowers was Comfrey, masses of it!  There are two extra photos if you'd like to look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.