The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

All The Fun Of The Fair

Could there be any more of a contrast from the serenity of yesterday's funeral to the noise and colour of Drayton Manor!

It was an on the spur moment by Dawn's sister towards the end of yesterday. She treated us to a day out for our birthdays.

I haven't been to a theme park for decades, it's not that they are really my thing, but more that the nearest decent ones are miles away. To be fair, Drayton Manor is about the same distance from our house as it was from Butterwick.

We were there really for Alex and William, Julies kids. It was a mystery trip for them, but they were all excited when they finally found out where we going. They love Thomas the Tank Engine Land. If you look at the extra photos for this entry you'll see that Alex and William weren't the only ones getting over excited. Dawn had a really good time too!

I am not big on the uber scary roller coasters to be honest. But I do like a good log flume! So late in the afternoon we headed over to it. I was gutted to find out as we joined the queue that it wasn't working and it would be half an hour before it was running again. So I found the smallest roller coaster there, the Ben-10 one and went for it.

Having survived that it killed enough time for the log flume to be operational again. There was also hardly any queue. I was warned we would get wet ... drenched was more the word they were grasping for! It was great fun all the same. My feet were completely under water by the time we were half way around!

Dawn went on the carousel with the kids, which was the last ride of the day!

It was a cracking day out, and big thanks for the sis in law for treating us! Reminded me of what a big kid I am at times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.